John Bellairs John Bellairs

Celebrating John Bellairs

John Anthony Bellairs (1938-1991) was the author of the fifteen acclaimed Gothic mystery novels in the Lewis Barnavelt, Anthony Monday, and Johnny Dixon series, as well as Saint Fidgeta and Other Parodies (1966), The Pedant and the Shuffly (1968), and the much-respected fantasy, The Face in the Frost (1969).

Born in Marshall, Michigan, Bellairs earned degrees from Notre Dame and the University of Chicago, taught at various Midwestern and New England colleges, and later lived and wrote in Haverhill, Massachusetts.

More about John

The Life of John Bellairs



Off to college at Notre Dame, where he writes for the Scholastic and speaks Middle English to a national audience.



There's what happened in the Windy City and the matter of Mount Carroll.



The famous author lives out his life writing in Haverhill, and the city celebrates its adopted son with a mural downtown.

Bellairs Corpus

The body of work created and written by John Bellairs and those books completed and continued by Brad Strickland.

What's New